Pashinyan, Kocharyan not to take seats in Armenian parliament


Acting Prime Minister of Armenia, Chairman of the Civil Contract Party Nikol Pashinyan and Chairman of the “Armenia Alliance” bloc Robert Kocharyan resigned from the mandate of the 8th convocation, Report mentions, referring to Novosti Armenia.

Thus, Secretary of the Central Electoral Commission of Armenia Armen Smbatyan posted on his Facebook page the list of candidates included in the electoral lists during the snap elections of the National Assembly held on June 20, 2021.

According to him, Pashinyan did not take the parliamentary mandate because he will be re-elected Prime Minister. Smbatyan stressed that the former president would not take his seat because he’s “a man of the executive branch,” but he will continue to lead his bloc outside parliament.

Armenia held early parliamentary elections on June 20. In this political campaign, Nikol Pashinyan’s party won 52.91% (71 seats), Robert Kocharyan’s “Armenia” bloc – 21.09% (29 seats), and Serzh Sargsyan and Arthur Vanesyan’s “I have honor” bloc – 5.22% (7 seats). The last bloc has not yet announced the names of its MPs who will participate in parliament.

The first session of the new Armenian parliament will be held on July 26.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button
Newsletter Signup

Subscribe to our newsletter below and never miss the latest product or an exclusive offer.