Azerbaijan news

Turkey’s NATO agreement – a blow to Putin |


Source: New York Times

Translation: Innovator

USAThe New York Times of Turkey, Sweden and Finland NATOto agree to join Russia considers it a blow to President Vladimir Putin.

Sweden and Finland militarypolitical which is an alliance NATORussia’s intention to join the bloc came against the backdrop of Russia’s total war of aggression in Ukraine since February 24, 2022, and they officially appealed to the alliance on May 12.

Since 1952 NATOwho is a member of Turkey Sweden and Finland did not want to let them join the alliance, citing its support for separatism and terrorist organizations in Turkey. However, on June 28 in Madrid, Spain TurkeyThe problem was resolved by a declaration signed by the foreign ministers of Sweden and Finland. Sweden and Finland are committed to resolving Turkey’s concerns Turkey agreed not to use the veto.

An article in the New York Times titled “A blow to Putin: Turkey will not exclude Sweden and Finland from NATO” reads: Of Ukraine who sees attempts to join the alliance as a threat to himself, sharply protest which also justifies the occupation of Ukraine Russia is a blow to President Vladimir Putin. Turkey’s consent Of Ukraine defeat of Vladimir Putin, who sees the occupation as a warning against NATO’s intention to expand, USA It is a victory for President Joseph Biden. “

Newspaper Ankara’s agreement came after Turkish President Recep Tayyip Erdogan met with Swedish Prime Minister Magdalena Andersson and Finnish President Sauli Niinistö in Madrid for four hours. Erdogan He accuses Sweden and Finland of harboring Kurds whom Turkey considers terrorists. He also traveled to Syria to fight Kurdish militants military Scandinavian countries imposed an arms embargo on Turkey after the intervention protest

The NATO summit kicked off in Madrid on June 29. Sweden and Finland are expected to receive official invitations to the alliance at the summit.

According to the rules, the first official step in joining NATO is for the member states and the candidate military is considered the signing of the protocol by the ambassadors to the alliance. Since decisions in NATO are made by consensus, the consent of each member state is required.

After passing the protocol signing stage, the protocol is ratified by the parliaments of the member states of the military alliance, including the candidate country, and only after that admission to the alliance is formalized.

NATO, which has 30 members, is headquartered in Brussels, Belgium.

NATO was founded in 1949 by the following countries: USABelgium, Great BritishDenmark, FranceIceland, Italy, Canada, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Norway, Portugal.

Turkey and Greece joined the organization in 1952.

West Germany (Germany since 1990) joined NATO in 1955.

Spanish militarypolitical joined the union in 1982.

NATO membership of the Czech Republic, Hungary and Poland was formalized in 1999.

Bulgaria, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Romania, Slovakia and Slovenia 20They have been represented in NATO since 04.

Membership of Albania and Croatia 20It started in 09.

Montenegro has been in the union since 2017.

Northern Macedonia joins NATO 2020was added in.

Azerbaijan news

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button
Newsletter Signup

Subscribe to our newsletter below and never miss the latest product or an exclusive offer.